Another BRS MLA joins Congress in Telangana


by IANS | Mon, Jun 24, 2024, 12:02 PM

Hyderabad, June 23 (IANS) The exodus of BRS MLAs to the Congress in Telangana continued with another of its legislators joining the ruling party on Sunday.

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) MLA Dr M. Sanjay Kumar met Chief Minister A. Revanth Reddy on Sunday night and joined the Congress.

The Chief Minister, who is also the state unit President, welcomed Sanjay into the party. Revenue Minister Ponguleti Srinivasa Reddy, former minister Sudershan Reddy, and Chief Minister’s advisor Vem Narender Reddy were present.

Sanjay was re-elected for a second consecutive term from the Jagtial Assembly constituency in Nizamabad district in the elections held in November 2023.

He is the fifth BRS MLA to switch loyalties since Congress came to power in December last year.

This came two days after senior leader and former Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy joined the Congress. Srinivas Reddy is a BRS MLA and a prominent leader from Nizamabad district.

The BRS had won 39 seats in the 119-member Assembly. Its strength has now come down to 33 as it also lost the recent Secunderabad Cantonment by-election to the ruling party.

Srinivas Reddy was the first MLA to switch loyalties after BRS suffered a humiliating defeat in last month’s Lok Sabha polls. The party drew a blank. After the defeat in the Assembly elections, the BRS lost several leaders to the Congress and the BJP.

Latest News
Justin Trudeau's praise for Diljit as 'guy from Punjab' earns rebuke from BJP Mon, Jul 15, 2024, 05:07 PM
Six killed, two seriously injured in crash in eastern Myanmar Mon, Jul 15, 2024, 05:05 PM
Hayley Matthews rejoins Melbourne Renegades ahead of WBBL season 10 Mon, Jul 15, 2024, 04:42 PM
Apple's India sales hit new high in FY24 amid increased manufacturing, premiumisation trend Mon, Jul 15, 2024, 04:36 PM
Stock markets continue upward trajectory, Nifty touches fresh all-time high Mon, Jul 15, 2024, 04:32 PM