President Murmu unveils iconic Durand Cup Trophy

by IANS |

New Delhi, July 10 (IANS) There are not many football tournaments that have the rich and deep heritage like the Durand Cup. As the iconic footballing spectacle set for its 133rd edition, the trophies were unveiled by the President of India, Droupadi Murmu in an event hosted at the Rashtrapati Bhavan Cultural Center (RBCC) on Wednesday.

The unveiling of the three trophies was followed by a group photo with all the dignitaries present at the event. Following the photo session, the President, along with all those present, stepped outside for the flag-off ceremony to kickstart the Durand Cup trophy tour. The flag had logos of the team’s participating at the event.

"The Durand Cup is the oldest football tournament in India. This is a tournament in which the winner wins three trophies: the Durand Cup, the President Cup and the Shimla Trophy. The tournament has been going on for almost 135 years. I’ve been told that the Shimla trophy was presented to the players by the locals from Shimla in 190. The first President of India, Dr Rajendra Prasad had gave the President Cup to the winners of the 1950 edition of the tournament and ever since then every winner receiving all three trophies is a tradition," said the President.

Among the many high profile guests at the event, the all time leading scorer of Indian football Sunil Chhetri was also present. The former Indian skipper, who retired from National football a month ago, spoke highly of the Durand Cup.

“It was at this Durand Cup, a long time ago when I got discovered. As a young kid in Delhi, I was discovered here and I got my big break and that’s how my journey started. This is not just any tournament, it’s a very important tournament with a lot of history, tradition, and culture and I could not be more happy to be here on this stage talking about the Durand Cup," said Chhetri at the event.

The 2024 edition of the tournament will take place across four cities at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan and Kishore Bharati Krirangan (Kolkata), JRD Tata Sports Complex (Jamshedpur), Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Shillong), and SAI Stadium (Kokrajhar).

The 2024 edition of the tournament is scheduled to begin on July 27 with the final set for August 31. The tournament will consist of 13 ISL teams, five I-League teams, three services team, BSF (Border Security Force), CISF (Central Industrial Service Force), two local teams and service teams from Bangladesh and Nepal.

Latest News
What BHU students expect from Budget 2024: Funding for research, hostel, job opportunities Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 05:01 PM
Mizoram's Aizawl to become 4th state capital in NE to have rail link by next year Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:55 PM
Don't share video circulated by terrorists: J&K Police warns public Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:52 PM
Major allocations likely for six guarantees in Telangana's full budget Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:50 PM
Root is so special that he could eventually overtake Sachin: Vaughan Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:48 PM
HM Amit Shah's verbal assault on Pawar-Thackeray evoke strong reactions from MVA, NCP Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:46 PM
Odisha Assembly session: Oppn stages walkout during Governor's address Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:44 PM
14 Palestinians killed in Israeli attacks in Khan Younis: Health authorities Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:43 PM
No special status to Bihar, reiterates Centre in Lok Sabha; RJD takes 'toy' jibe Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:37 PM
AI, machine learning job roles see 433 pc rise since 2022: Study Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:34 PM
Typhoon Prapiroon brings rainstorms, strong gusts to China Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:33 PM
14-hour work day: CM canít take decisions unilaterally, says BJP Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:21 PM
Farmer's insult case: Karnataka govt to issue guidelines to malls, establishments Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:06 PM
Cambodian FM to attend ASEAN meeting in Laos Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:02 PM
Igor Stimac pens note to new India head coach Marquez says, 'journey won't be easy' Mon, Jul 22, 2024, 04:00 PM