10 BJP MPs including 2 ministers resign after winning Assembly elections

by IANS |

New Delhi, Dec 6 (IANS) Ten BJP MPs including two Union ministers, who won the Assembly elections, have tendered their resignations after receiving instructions from the party high command.

Two MPs Mahant Balaknath and Renuka Singh could not reach Parliament to resign but both of them will also resign. In the meeting of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and JP Nadda, it was decided that all the MPs who won the Assembly elections should resign from their Parliament membership and work in the state assemblies.

Following the decision of the high command, Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar and Prahlad Singh Patel, who won the Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, have resigned from the Lok Sabha membership. Along with them, Rao Uday Pratap Singh, Rakesh Singh and Riti Pathak, who won the Assembly polls in the state, have also resigned from the Lok Sabha membershi. Now these five leaders will take oath as MLAs in Madhya Pradesh. Of these, Tomar and Patel are also being considered as contenders for the post of Chief Minister.

On the instructions of the party high command, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Diya Kumari, who won the Assembly polls in Rajasthan, have also resigned from the Lok Sabha membership. Apart from them, Kirori Lal Meena, who won the election in Rajasthan, has also resigned from the Rajya Sabha.

State President Arun Sao and Gomati Sai, who won the Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, have also resigned from Parliament membership.

All these MPs met Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with party president JP Nadda before resigning. JP Nadda was also present when they handed over their resignations to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla and Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar.

Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Singh Patel and Renuka Singh will also meet Prime Minister Modi and submit their resignations from the post of Union Ministers.

Latest News
Legends Cricket Trophy to kick off with clash between Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh in Kandy Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 03:12 PM
Three of a family die in car crash in Bihar's Motihari Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 03:04 PM
New govt on anvil in Nepal as PM Prachanda splits with coalition partner Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 02:58 PM
Poultry companies to log 5-6 pc revenue growth Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 02:51 PM
Delhi court acquits 3 men in false rape case, orders action against accuser Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 02:49 PM
'Don't think there's any great concern...', says McDonald on Labuschagne's form Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 02:17 PM
Defence Minister Rajnath Singh bats for India's strategic autonomy Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 02:09 PM
Stepfather arrested for raping minor girl in UP Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 02:04 PM
Development of India through states is our mantra: PM Modi Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 01:41 PM
Delhi's Rs 76,000 cr budget: Rs 1,000 to women, free electricity continues Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 01:35 PM
Consumers exhibit a strong preference to place deposits in 1-3 year category Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 01:23 PM
Bangladeshi national arrested in Kolkata for sending bomb threat mail at Delhi airport Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 01:20 PM
Social organisations come out against sale of illicit liquor in Tamil Nadu Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 01:15 PM
Three girl students attacked with acid in Karnataka college, attacker caught Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 12:40 PM
Govt allows export of onion to Bangladesh, UAE with riders Mon, Mar 04, 2024, 12:35 PM