10 BJP MPs including 2 ministers resign after winning Assembly elections

by IANS |

New Delhi, Dec 6 (IANS) Ten BJP MPs including two Union ministers, who won the Assembly elections, have tendered their resignations after receiving instructions from the party high command.

Two MPs Mahant Balaknath and Renuka Singh could not reach Parliament to resign but both of them will also resign. In the meeting of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and JP Nadda, it was decided that all the MPs who won the Assembly elections should resign from their Parliament membership and work in the state assemblies.

Following the decision of the high command, Union ministers Narendra Singh Tomar and Prahlad Singh Patel, who won the Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, have resigned from the Lok Sabha membership. Along with them, Rao Uday Pratap Singh, Rakesh Singh and Riti Pathak, who won the Assembly polls in the state, have also resigned from the Lok Sabha membershi. Now these five leaders will take oath as MLAs in Madhya Pradesh. Of these, Tomar and Patel are also being considered as contenders for the post of Chief Minister.

On the instructions of the party high command, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore and Diya Kumari, who won the Assembly polls in Rajasthan, have also resigned from the Lok Sabha membership. Apart from them, Kirori Lal Meena, who won the election in Rajasthan, has also resigned from the Rajya Sabha.

State President Arun Sao and Gomati Sai, who won the Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, have also resigned from Parliament membership.

All these MPs met Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with party president JP Nadda before resigning. JP Nadda was also present when they handed over their resignations to Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla and Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar.

Narendra Singh Tomar, Prahlad Singh Patel and Renuka Singh will also meet Prime Minister Modi and submit their resignations from the post of Union Ministers.

Latest News
After 10-yr stint in BJP, Haryana's Jat leader Birender Singh rejoins Congress Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 02:50 PM
PM Modi to address first public rally for LS polls in MP's Maoist-hit Balaghat Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:52 PM
Why India is seeing a rising trend of diseases Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:40 PM
IPL 2024: 'Chennai Super Kings should be called Chepauk Super Kings', says Aakash Chopra Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:37 PM
Real Madrid request UEFA permission to play Manchester City under a closed roof: Report Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:36 PM
IPL 2024: Jonny Bairstow ready to put best foot forward' vs former side SRH Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:36 PM
Two killed in road accident in J&K's Udhampur Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:33 PM
MVA cracks seat-share formula, Uddhav Thackeray grabs maximum Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:31 PM
Toronto, other Canadian cities go dark as millions watch total solar eclipse Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:28 PM
MSCI India index rebalancing could see inclusion of 18 stocks with inflow of $2.7 bn Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:18 PM
South Korean Prez vows to be among top 3 nations in AI technology Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:10 PM
Mobile messenger KakaoTalk's users fall below 45 million for 1st time: Report Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:09 PM
X employees facing arrest in Brazil: Elon Musk Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:06 PM
Sectors like capital goods, auto lead Sensex to new high Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:04 PM
Egypt, Jordan, France urge immediate ceasefire in Gaza Tue, Apr 09, 2024, 12:03 PM