Prasidh replaces rested Bumrah; Johnson to debut as Smith-captained Australia win toss, elect to bowl against India

by IANS |

Indore, Sep 24 (IANS) Pacer Prasidh Krishna comes into India’s playing eleven in place of a rested Jasprit Bumrah as Steven Smith-captained Australia won the toss and elected to bowl first in the second ODI here at Holkar Stadium on Sunday.

India are leading three-game series 1-0, having won the opening match in Mohali by five wickets. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in an update that Bumrah did not travel with the team to Indore for Sunday’s match as he has gone to visit his family and was given a short break by the team management.

In place of Bumrah, who will now join the team for the final ODI in Rajkot, fast-bowler Mukesh Kumar has been added to the Indian team as his replacement in Indore. But in the playing eleven, a chance has been given to Prasidh, who made his ODI comeback in the Asia Cup Super Four match against Bangladesh in Colombo earlier this month.

“We would have bowled first as well considering the size of the ground. Good wicket, good challenge to put runs on the board. Good for all our batters to spend some time in the middle,” said stand-in captain KL Rahul.

Australia, meanwhile, have neither Mitchell Marsh, nor regular captain Pat Cummins, with Smith being the skipper for Sunday’s match in what is another round of experimentation ahead of the World Cup. Johnson, a left-arm fast-bowler, is making his ODI debut as Australia brought back Josh Hazlewood and Alex Carey into the playing eleven.

With ground dimensions being small, one can anticipate a high-scoring game in Indore. “It's pretty warn. Looks a nice wicket, fancy chasing. If it (dew) comes in, it'll help while chasing. We want to win but we also want to try out a different combination,” said Smith.

Playing XIs

India: Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (captain & wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami and Prasidh Krishna

Australia: David Warner, Matthew Short, Steven Smith (captain), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis, Alex Carey (wicketkeeper), Cameron Green, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood and Spencer Johnson

Latest News
PM Modi to release Rs 20,000 crore to farmers during Varanasi visit on June 18 Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 03:53 PM
Millwall goalkeeper Matija Sarkic dies aged 26 Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 03:51 PM
Researchers link hot weather with increased headaches for people with migraines Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 03:32 PM
Kangana shares video of PM Modi with Giorgia Meloni; hails his support for women Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 03:29 PM
Water conservation campaign will become a movement in state: MP CM Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 03:28 PM
Congress govt got tight slap from Karnataka court on Yediyurappa matter: Union Min Pralhad Joshi Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 03:26 PM
Wayanad or Raebareli? Rahul Gandhi likely to decide on Monday Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 03:23 PM
Indian stock markets breaking global benchmarks in equity market cap Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 02:56 PM
PM Modi hails India-Italy friendship after Meloni shares 'Melodi' selfie video Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 02:53 PM
Kuwait fire: 14 Keralites under treatment out of danger Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 02:28 PM
Scholz calls Swiss-hosted Ukraine talks an early step to forge peace Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 02:27 PM
US aid pier off Gaza to be temporarily removed due to bad weather Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 02:13 PM
Philippines says 21 of 22 Filipino crew on attacked ship in Red Sea rescued, safe Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 02:11 PM
Swati Maliwal case: Judicial custody of CM Kejriwal's aide Bibhav Kumar extended Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 02:04 PM
Will work towards fulfilling PM Modi's semiconductor initiatives: Minister Kumaraswamy Sat, Jun 15, 2024, 01:49 PM