Karnataka polls: Cong releases 1st list of 124 candidates, Siddaramaiah to contest from Varuna

by IANS |

Bengaluru, March 25 (IANS) The Congress has released its first list of 124 candidates for the Karnataka Assembly polls fielding Opposition leader Siddaramaiah from Varuna constituency and retaining most of the old faces.

Presently, the seat in Mysuru district is being held by his son Dr. Yatindra. Siddaramaiah is also expecting a ticket from another constituency, which is likely to be announced in the second list.

According to sources close to Siddaramaiah, the former chief minister might again contest from Badami constituency.

Varuna ticket has?been given to Siddaramaiah to ensure victory without having to campaign for a long time in the constituency. However, BJP is contemplating to field former Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa's son B.Y. Vijayendra from Varuna.

In this scenario, the Varuna constituency will witness a fierce competition and a high voltage campaigning with Congress's game plan of using Siddaramaiah's services across the state likely to receive a jolt.

Senior Congress leader late Dhruvanarayana's son Darshan Dhruvanarayana has been allotted ticket from Nanjangud (SC) constituency, which is likely to see a close contest with BJP's B. Harshavardhan, who is son-in-law of former union minister V. Srinivasa Prasad.

Five senior Muslim candidates -- U.T. Khader (Ullal), B.Z. Zameer Ahmad Khan (Chamarajpet), Rahim Khan (Bidar) and Kaneez Fatima (Gulbarga North) have also been allotted tickets.

Priyakrishna is being fielded from Govindarajnagar constituency ruling out the possibility of rumours of BJP Minister V.Somanna joining Congress. The party has allotted father-son duo, Shamanur Shivashankarappa and S.S. Mallikarjun tickets from Davanagere South and Davanagere North constituencies.

Latest News
Israel launches 1st tourist marine nature reserve in Mediterranean Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:42 PM
Pope Francis to undergo intestinal surgery today Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:41 PM
DMK to celebrate centenary of Late CM Karunanidhi today Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:36 PM
Bengal govt accused of diverting funds from scheme for paying Odisha train accident compensation Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:35 PM
All-rounder Moeen Ali comes out of Test retirement, added to England's Ashes squad Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:28 PM
Intel introduces 2 new GPUs with Dolby Vision support Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:20 PM
Twitter Blue users now get 1 hr to edit their tweets Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:19 PM
US SEC sues crypto exchange Coinbase a day after suing Binance Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:12 PM
Leading state owned financial institution KFC's profit quadruples Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:10 PM
Woman, baby infected with monkeypox after returning to SL from Dubai Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:09 PM
Another case registered against Imran, wife for forgery & fraud Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:08 PM
Erdogan pledges to submit constitution amendment proposal to Parliament Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 02:06 PM
Is Wayanad heading for Lok Sabha bypoll? Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 01:55 PM
Bengal Governor finally clears name of new state election commissioner Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 01:54 PM
Delhi HC issues new circular on judicial officers' dress code Wed, Jun 07, 2023, 01:50 PM