Trinamool MLA under fire for questioning CM's poor attendance in Assembly

by IANS |

Kolkata, Nov 23 (IANS) Trinamool Congress MLA Abdul Karim Chowdhury had to face party leadership's wrath for questioning the limited attendance of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee during Assembly sessions.

Party insiders said that on Tuesday evening, the state Legislative party convened a meeting to update the MLAs about the dos and don'ts when the session is on.

In the meeting, which was chaired by the state president Subrata Bakshi, party veterans stressed on the regular attendance of the MLAs during Assembly sessions, and to attend the meetings of the different standing committees.

During the meeting, Chowdhury -- one of the seniormost members of the state -- insisted on saying something. When allowed, he said that it would have been better if the chief minister comes to Assembly at an interval of three to four days and stays at least for an hour while the house is in session.

He also referred to his long experience as an elected legislator from Islampur since 1967 where he witnessed former chief ministers like Late Ajay Mukherjee, Late Siddhartha Shankar Ray, Late Jyoti Basu and Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee regularly attending the assembly sessions.

Understanding that the matter can take a serious turn if Chowdhury is allowed to continue, Subrata Bakshi, who was chairing the meeting interrupted and asked him to take his seat without continuing further.

Many of the attending MLAs and ministers present in the meeting were visibly irritated over Chowdhury's comment, a source in the meeting said.

However, later asked about his comments in the meeting, Chowdhury got into a defensive mood. "I would not want to say what I had said in an internal party meeting. The importance of the Assembly session surely gains more importance on days when the chief minister is present," he said.

Abdul Karim Chowdhury had been an 11-time elected legislator from Islampur Assembly constituency in North Dinajpur district since 1967.

He was elected as an MLA six times from 1967 to 1982. After that, he got elected from the same constituency in 1991, 1996, 2001, 2011 and 2021.

Latest News
Afghanistan to tour UAE for a three-match menís T20I series in late December Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:41 PM
Exposure to PFAS may affect bone health in adolescents & young adults Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:40 PM
Arthritis drug shows promise against Type 1 diabetes Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:39 PM
'Why was treatment denied to 14-yr-old cancer patient?' Delhi Minister to Chief Secy Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:39 PM
Nissan investigating cyberattack targeting systems in Australia, New Zealand Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:38 PM
Govt bars sugar mills from using sugarcane for ethanol production Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:37 PM
State IB sounds KLO alert day after Mamata embarks on N Bengal tour Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:36 PM
Goa TMC demands apology from Giriraj Singh over 'Thumka' remarks against Mamta Banerjee Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:34 PM
Resume Ambala-Shri Ganganagar express train service: Patiala MP Preneet Kaur Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:34 PM
New Zealand to ban cellphone use in classroom Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:31 PM
Indian-American allegedly stole $22 mn from football team to fund lavish lifestyle Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:28 PM
S.Korea pushing to host trilateral summit with US, Japan next year Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:26 PM
S.Korea, Vietnam agree to boost cooperation on critical minerals Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:20 PM
2 killed, 4 wounded in Russian school shooting Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:19 PM
Vaishnaw PM's favourite for CM's post in Rajasthan: Sources Thu, Dec 07, 2023, 04:01 PM